Gearing up for Star Kids 2009!

Ok, it’s time to gear up again for Star Kids in 2009! This time I intend to finish the sucker! I took a 3 month break from it because I was totally burnt out from everything but I am ready now. I realize this time that I need a crew even if it is a bunch of kids. So my first order of business is to get the Movie Club up and running. That is what I am calling the Star Kids internship program. I have started fundraising again and it is going better than last year. I have also decided not to release the film in episode format. I could do that but that strategy would require ten times more editing. We will still film it in episodes but we will edit and release the film as one feature length film.

I am trying to figure out how to speed up the production. One way would be to use a low light HD camera so that we would have a minimal amount of light setups. Also to go hand held all the way and not use tripos so much. And, finally to use a battery operated LED mobile light. This way when we do need a light we can quickly move it with us and not have to worry about power and cables etc. If you have any suggestions on low light cameras or LED lights please let me know.

I really want to film episode 2 in February and I am determined to do that. So I need to set a date soon.

I also found out that I cannot go back to the location where we shot episode 1 and I need to do that to finish it. So now I am thinking of finding a new location and re-shooting it and using the footage for a trailer. We did learn a lot from that shoot but really it was a rehearsal. We made a ton of mistakes and I was not totally happy with how it went. There is no time to find a new location right now So I am thinking we will shoot episode 2 in chinatown and then once I find a location re-shoot episode 1. I hate doing things out of order and I know that is a common practice in film but it just feels better when you are going sequentially through the script.

About phactorx

Hello! My name is William Spiritdancer, and I am a filmmaker and founder of Dream Power, an organization based in Seattle Washington with a mission of helping people uncover their dreams and gifts and life purpose. We teach through writings, classes, films and our website. Our latest project is Star Kids: Awakening to Purpose, a children’s film that will teach the positive values of Peace, Truth, Love and Unity. Go to http://mydreampower.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Cameras, Star Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

