fundraising part 2

Ok, I finally finished my non profit proposal for Star Kids. I sent it out to two people today and will call them next week for an answer. now that i have the proposal there really is no excuse for me not to ask people. but i am goign to focus most of my efforts on larger donors, such as foundations , corporate sponsors and philanthropical orgs. So far no donations from individuals. I don’t know why? I think at this point I will probably get a lot of resistance to the million dollar budget. that number scares some people, they feel I need to do an extremely low budget film, say $10,000 or so. but I want this to be a real film that I can distribute nation wide and get the attention of these kids. to do that it has to be a professional production. the other number that might scare people is the idea of showing this film to a million kids. but it can be done and if this film reaches a million kids i would feel that it could have some kind of meaningful impact. I am not interested in just showing it to a few hundred kids. we need to reach a lot of kids.

I also decided I’m going to track down Zach Ziposvsky from the Fox On the Lot show. He did a great job doing special effects on a low budget quickly so I want to talk to him about being our special effects supervisor. I have to track him down first and hopefully he will not be too expensive and will be available. It’s a long shot but worth a try. I am sure his exposure from on the lot made in very much in demand. but you never know.

Also I watched a really cool documentary called Hyperspace made by the BBC. They used a special effects house out of Australia called Beeps. I was so inspired watching their magical effects that I decided that computer generated special effects had to be a major part of the film. even if that would increase the budget. if we could put these kinds of effects in Star Kids, it will surely be a hit with the kids. so I am going to contact them as well.

About phactorx

Hello! My name is William Spiritdancer, and I am a filmmaker and founder of Dream Power, an organization based in Seattle Washington with a mission of helping people uncover their dreams and gifts and life purpose. We teach through writings, classes, films and our website. Our latest project is Star Kids: Awakening to Purpose, a children’s film that will teach the positive values of Peace, Truth, Love and Unity. Go to http://mydreampower.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in non profit distribution, special effects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

